MSc module Advances in Data Management

Spring Term 2018, Birkbeck


Course Aims and Syllabus

Provisional Course Schedule

Mon 8 Jan 6-9pm
Mon 15 Jan 6-7.20pm
Mon 15 Jan 7.40-9pm
Mon 22 Jan 6-9pm
Mon 29 Jan 6-7.20pm
Mon 29 Jan 7.40-9pm
Mon 5 Feb 6-7.20pm
Mon 5 Feb 7.40-9pm
Mon 12 Feb 6-9pm
Mon 19 Feb 6-9pm
Mon 26 Feb 6-7.20pm
Mon 26 Feb 7.40-9pm
Mon 5 March 6-7.20pm
Mon 5 March 7.40-9pm
Mon 12 March 6-7.20
Mon 12 March 7.40-9.00
Mon 19 March 6-7.20
TBA
Principles of Database Systems
Principles of Database Systems
Active and Deductive Databases
Lab 1: Database Programming
Query Processing and Optimisation
Lab 1 (cont'd)
Query Processing and Optimisation
Transaction Management
Distributed and Heterogeneous Databases
Lab 2: Ontology-based data integration and querying
Distributed and Heterogeneous Databases
Parallel DBs; NoSQL, NewSQL & Big Data
Lab 3: XML in DB2, MongoDB, Neo4J
Guest Lecture by Petra Selmer, Neo4J, on: "NoSQL and Graph Databases"
Semi-Structured Data Management
Lab 3 (cont'd)
Web Data Integration; Module wrap-up
Revision Lecture

Attendance at the Labs is compulsory. Teaching Assistant for the Lab sessions: Konstantinos Karoudis (konstantinos@dcs.bbk.ac.uk)

Office hours

If you wish to talk to Alex about the course, she is available on Mondays 5-5.30pm in her office. Alternatively please email her to set up an appointment at a different time.

Lecture Notes

Additional resources are posted on the ADM Moodle for students enrolled on the module.

Coursework deadlines

Background reading