Skip to content Search
Search our website:

Fundamentals of Information Technology

Short name: FI
SITS code: COIY067H4
Credits: 15
Level: 4
Module leader: Gordon McIntyre
Online material:


The module helps learners to familiarize themselves with a range of fundamental concepts and issues in the world of IT. It provides a platform for professional development through an exploration of codes of conduct, and legislation governing the use of computing equipment. The module also teaches students to work safely, through the teaching of health and safety issues in IT. The latter part of the module explores different types of IT systems, looking at development, implementation and testing. The module concludes with an exploration of future trends in the world of IT.

Learning Outcomes

On successful completion of this module student will be expected to be able to:

  • Describe core roles and responsibilities in IT.
  • Work to professional standards.
  • Work to legal ethical and social constraints, and extant codes of conduct.
  • Work without harm to self or others, following health and safety standards and guidelines.
  • Work in a way that maintains system integrity and security and minimizes risk.
  • Describe IT systems, their uses and component parts.
  • Describe the processes through which IT solutions are designed and developed.
  • Describe the processes through which IT solutions are implemented and tested.
  • To understand the fundamentals of mobile and cloud computing.
  • To be able to describe future trends in IT.





Roles, Responsibilities and Professional Issues in IT


Health and Safety, Social, Ethical and Legal Issues in IT


IT Security and Risk


IT Systems


Systems Analysis and Design


Systems Implementation and Testing


Mobile and Cloud Computing


The Future of IT


  • None


Indicative timetables can be found in the handbooks available on programme pages. Personalised teaching timetables for students are available via My Birkbeck.



Assessment is through a portfolio of written tasks.

Part 1 – TMA (25%).

  • Tasks 1 (Roles, Responsibilities and Professional Issues in IT)
  • Task 2 (Health and Safety, Social, Ethical and Legal Issues in IT)

Part 2 – FMA (75%).

  • Task 3 from session 3 (IT Security and Risk)
  • Two additional tasks selected from sessions 4 – 8)
  • A final portfolio document.